Social Media Marketing

What Does My Facebook Timeline Look Like To Other People?

Earlier, we spoke on how one can instantly limit what the general public sees on your Facebook Timeline, but another big question a lot of people have for us is: “What does my Facebook profile page look like to others?”

The answer to that question, before the Timeline existed, used to be that it all depends on your connection to someone. Friends, subscribers, and the general public could all see a lot of different things on your profile depending on the privacy settings you had in place.

However, if you have recently switched to the Facebook Timeline, then you should know that your privacy settings have changed. Therefore, it is extremely important to use this simple and quick trick we are about to show you to determine what friends and the general public can see on your Timeline.

How to view your Facebook profile as others see it:

From your profile page, click on the gear symbol in the top right, just under your cover photo, next to the “activity log.”  From there, hover over the “view as…” option and click on it. Once you have done this, Facebook will show you your profile as it is seen by the general public. 

The top of your profile will now read:

This is how your Timeline looks to the public.

Use this tool to see how your Timeline appears to a specific friend or the public. Remember: you can always change who can see any post that appears on your Timeline.

Reminder: You can exit out of this view simply by leaving your profile page and visiting somewhere else on Facebook. Facebook will revert the settings automatically back to  admin (or, your) view. 

From this viewpoint, you can click on the years in your Timeline on the right side of your profile to see what posts and photos the public can and cannot see. Or, you can enter in a certain friend or subscriber’s name in the box provided at the top of your “view as.. profile” to see what they see when viewing your profile. Please note, though, that if you haven’t touched your privacy settings since switching to the Timeline, the general public can see basically everything.

If you are not satisfied with how your profile looks to the public Click here change that setting instantly. 

If you are not satisfied with how your profile looks to specific friends, stay tuned for a link on this page  on how to fix that problem.