Social Media Marketing

How To Quickly Limit What People See On Your Facebook Timeline

Not too excited about the Facebook Timeline and how easily accessible the last 5-6 years of your life on Facebook is to the general public and possible employers?

Should have thought about that before posting at 3:00 AM in college, right? Unfortunately, the only way to get rid of embarrassing Facebook Timeline posts so your friends and family can’t see them is to manually go through every year and delete them one-by-one.

However, the social media mythbusters have a quick tool that many of you may not know about that can instantly limit what the general public (i.e. future employers) can see on your Facebook Timeline.

On any Facebook page, in the upper-right corner next to the word “home” is an upside-down triangle. Click on that triangle and hover down to “privacy settings” and click on that. When taken to the privacy settings page, scroll down to the bottom of the page and look for the option that says “Limit the Audience for Past Posts.”

 

As the warning states when you choose this option, this change is permanent, but once chosen will instantly limit the viewing of past posts on your Timeline to only your friends and the people originally tagged in a certain post.

Meaning, when your future boss wants to look through your timeline, he won’t be able to see any of your past discretions. Photos, videos, words, or otherwise. Well, unless you make the mistake of friending him before he hires you.