Social Media Marketing

Facebook Tip: The Facebook “Subscribers” Hoax, And How To Really Turn Subscriptions Off

Like our post? Like us on Facebook! Just click on the Facebook icon below to get to our page, that easy!

Related: The difference between friends and subscribers on Facebook

The Facebook “subscribers” hoax.

The latest in a series of scams, this one urges you to disable your friend’s comments and posts.

It reads like this in someone’s status update:

“Not sure how this works, but a friend posed it. Does anyone know about this?
Hey Everyone…I’d like to keep my FB private except to those I am friends with. So if you all would do the following, I’d appreciate it. With the new FB timeline on its way this week for EVERYONE, please do both of us a favor. Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you’ll see a box that says : “Subscribed”. Hover over that, then go to “comments and likes” and unclick it. That will stop my posts and yours to me from showing up on the bar side for everyone to see, but most importantly it limits hackers from invading our profiles. If you re-post this I will do the same for you. You’ll know I’ve acknowledged you because if you tell me that you’ve done it I’ll “like” it.”

The purported aim of the status is to “prevent hackers” from reading your posts, but all it does is prevent the friends who follow your command and perform the actions above from interacting with you. Which, I assume, was not your intention seeing as you read the status on a SOCIAL media website.

What you are really looking for to prevent people you don’t know from following you is the disable subscribers option.

The subscribe button was made for celebrities and rock stars with tons of followers who want privacy distinctions betweens friends and fans, but its importance to you and your friends is relatively nil.

To remove the subscribe option, simply follow these directions:

  1. Go to your profile page
  2. Underneath your profile picture click Subscriptions
  3. If a big box pops up that says “Allow Subscribers”, then you are currently not allowing your page to be public. However, if a box pops up to edit your subscriber settings, then you are allowing your page (comments and pictures) to be public.

If your page is currently public and you don’t want it to be, you can just edit your settings:

  1.  Click on the arrow in the top right of your Facebook page, next to your name
  2.  Click on the privacy settings in the  resulting dropbox
  3.  In privacy settings, make sure the privacy box marked “friends,” not “public” is checked. Once you have checked friends in the settings, your posts are no longer viewable by the general public.

Related: Social media mythbusters

Related: Learn from the mythbusters, social media consultations available.

Was this helpful ? Want to get email updates of more of our articles like this ? Subscribe below:

Brought to you by Intelligent Designs Media, social media mythbusters since 2010.